Employers use a 9% flat rate to figure withholding on wages that are paid at a different time than an employee’s regular payday. For more information, see the Oregon Withholding Tax Tables.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI)
Special Payroll Tax Offset:
Use 0.12% for the first quarter, and 0.09% for the second, third, and fourth quarters.
New employers use 2.4%
A payroll assessment is calculated on the basis of hours worked by all paid workers, owners, and officers covered by Workers’ Compensation insurance in Oregon, and by all workers subject to Oregon’s Workers´ Compensation laws.
Standard minimum wage is $11.25.Portland Metro minimum wage is $12.50.Non-urban counties minimum wage is $11.00.
When an employer terminates an employee or the termination is by mutual agreement, the final paycheck must be paid no later than the end of the first business day after the termination.
When an employee quits without notice, final payment is due and payable within five days after an employee quits.
When an employee gives at least 48 hours of notice (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and holidays) the final paycheck is due on the final day worked.
Worker’s compensation rates are:$0.024 per hour per employee (paid by employer).
$0.012 per hour per hour (withheld from employee).
New Hire Filing
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and employees returning to work within 20 days
Reporting by mail
Department of Justice, Division of Child Support
Employer New Hire Reporting
4600 25th Ave. NE, Suite 180
Salem, OR 97301
Lane and Tri-Met County Transit Taxes are applicable. For more information, please visit the Oregon Department of Revenue.
The information provided here should not be considered legal or accounting advice nor should it substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice. If you require legal or accounting advice, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant, or other professional to discuss the facts of your particular situation.
We're here to help. Contact us for any help you might need.